Charles E. Harris
Chairman of the Board and
Chief Executive Officer since 1984

Prior to 1984, Mr. Harris had an eighteen-year career in the investment industry, including serving as Chairman of Wood, Struthers and Winthrop Management Corp., the investment advisory subsidiary of Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette. He is currently a trustee of two not-for-profit entities, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a research and education institution in molecular biology and genetics, and the Nidus Center, a life sciences business incubator. He is a life-sustaining fellow of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a Shareholder of its Entrepreneurship Center. Mr. Harris was a member of the Advisory Panel for the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment. He was graduated from Princeton University (A.B.) and the Columbia University Graduate School of Business (M.B.A.).

C. Wayne Bardin, M.D.
Director since 1994

Dr. Bardin is President of Thyreos Corp., a privately held, start-up pharmaceutical company. From 1978 through 1996, he was Vice President of The Population Council, an international non-profit organization focusing on population issues. He has held appointments as Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center of Pennsylvania State University, and Senior Investigator, Endocrinology Branch, National Cancer Institute. He has directed basic and clinical research leading to over 500 publications and patents. He has served on committees and boards for the National Institute of Health, World Health Organization, The Ford Foundation, and various scientific societies. He received a B.A. from Rice University, M.S. and M.D. degrees from Baylor University and holds honorary degrees from the University of Caen, the University of Paris, and the University of Helsinki.

Phillip A. Bauman, M.D.
Director since 1998

Dr. Bauman is a practicing orthopedic surgeon who holds an academic appointment at Columbia University. He received B.A. and M.A. degrees in Biology from Harvard University and an M.D. degree from Columbia University. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. He is affiliated with the New York Academy of Medicine and is on the advisory board of a medical research foundation.

G. Morgan Browne
Director since 1992

Mr. Browne is the Chief Financial Officer of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a private, not-for-profit research and education institution in molecular biology and genetics; he was its Administrative Director from 1985-2000. Mr. Browne is a director of OSI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (a publicly held company principally engaged in drug discovery based on gene transcription). Previously, he was an associate of Laurnet Oppenheim Associates, industrial management consultants. He is a founding director of the New York Biotechnology Association and of the Long Island Research Institute. He is a graduate of Yale University.

Dugald A. Fletcher
Director since 1996

Mr. Fletcher is President of Fletcher & Company, Inc., a management consulting firm. He is a Trustee of the Gabelli Growth Fund and a Director of the Gabelli Convertible Securities Fund and until 1997 was Chairman of Binnings Building Products Inc. Among other executive positions, he has been Senior Vice President of Booz-Allen & Hamilton and Executive Vice-President and a director of Paine Webber Inc. He is a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Business School.

Kelly S. Kirkpatrick
Director since 2002

Dr. Kirkpatrick is a consulting materials scientist focusing on areas of nanotechnology, genomics, advanced materials, biotechnology, transportation and environmental technologies. Previously, Ms. Kirkpatrick served as Director of Columbia University's Nanotechnology Initiative and its Research and Technology Initiative. She was a Senior Policy Analyst in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and co-wrote the panel report of the National Nanotechnology Initiative. She was previously a Science Policy coordinator for Sandia National Laboratories and was a Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow in the Office of Senator Joseph J. Lieberman. She holds a Ph.D. degree from Northwestern University in Materials Science and Engineering.

Mark A. Parsells
Director since 2003

Mr. Parsells is Chairman, President and CEO of Montpelier Ventures, LLC, a management consulting firm focused on start-ups and turn-arounds. Previously, he was Chairman, President and CEO of a start-up insurance company backed by AIG, Prudential and Kemper Insurance Companies, Fusura LLC and he led a turn-around of Citigroup's online banking business as President and COO of Citibank Online. His efforts resulted in Citibank becoming the top-ranked online banking operation in the United States and are the subject of an MIT Sloan School case study. Mr. Parsells also held executive positions for Bank One, First USA Bank and American Express and served as Special Assistant to the late U.S. Senator H. John Heinz. He was graduated from Emory University (BA), Cornell University (MBA) and Vlerick Leuven Gent Business School (MBA) and is an alumni of the Harvard Business School General Manager Program.

Lori D. Pressman
Director since 2002

Ms. Pressman is a self-employed business consultant providing advisory services to startups and venture capital companies. Among other projects for Harris & Harris Group, she has served as a consultant to the company in its due diligence work on Nantero, Inc., Nanopharma Corp., and NeoPhotonics Corporation. From 1989 until 2000, she was employed by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the Technology Licensing Office, serving as Technology Licensing Officer from 1989 to 1995 and Assistant Director from 1996 to 2000. She has previously been Senior Development Engineer at Lasertron, Inc., and a Member of the Solid State Materials Research Laboratory at Bell Laboratories. Ms. Pressman currently Chairs the Survey Statistics and Metrics Committee of the Association of University Technology Managers for which she edited the recent report on Academic Technology Transfer of 190 U.S. and Canadian institutions. She holds an S.B. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an M.S.E.E. from the Columbia School of Engineering.

Charles E. Ramsey
Director since 2002

Mr. Ramsey is a retired founder and principal of Ramsey/Beirne Associates, Inc., an executive search firm that specialized in recruiting top officers for high technology companies, many of which were backed by venture capital. He is a graduate of Wittenberg University. An active investor, he is a director of three privately held companies including Experion Systems, Inc., in which Harris & Harris Group owns an equity interest. He works on construction projects in Nicaragua as a member of the Nicaraguan Initiative Committee for the Presbyterian Churches of the Hudson River and Chair of Bridges to Community, an NGO dedicated to construction projects in Nicaragua.

James E. Roberts
Director since 1995

Mr. Roberts is presently Executive Vice President and Chief Underwriting Officer of the Reinsurance Division of Alea North America Company. Previously, he was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Insurance Company of New York, Dakota Specialty Insurance Company, and ReCor Insurance Company Inc., all of which are members of Trenwick Group, Ltd. Mr. Roberts has held senior executive positions with other companies in the Trenwick Group. Mr. Roberts is a graduate of Cornell University.

Executive Officers>>

Who We Are | Tiny Tech | Portfolio Companies | Officers & Directors
Shareholder Information | Press Releases | Contact Us

Copyright © 2006 Harris & Harris Group, Inc. - All rights reserved